Gym rants

So, some colleagues at work started a bet before the thanksgiving weekend, on the lines of ‘the biggest loser wins’. The person who will lose the most number of pounds, will win something, I have no idea what. I did not even get into it. My weight is going a little bonkers. I was 103 pounds when I was in engg college. Then I shot up to 125 lb in 2011. I looked so chubby and not nice at all! It was not the evenly chubby and cutely chubby thing. It was, like pockets of fat showing, grossly chubby. After that I got back into working out hard and started controlling my diet and the rubbish I put into my mouth, and now I am at 114-115 lb. I was on 110 lb a couple of months back. The person who checks our weights and body fat % from the gym, says that I am gaining because it is the muscle that I am building. As long as I lose the fat, I am ok with losing or gaining!

I blame my screwed up metabolism in my 1st year in USA. It is so damn hard to eat healthy and right in the States! More so, if you are a vegetarian. I would skip meals daily and have a frozen pizza or something. My body probably thought I am a polar bear and went into hibernation mode and started storing all the fat. I am reaping the ‘sweet’ fruits of my stupidity now. That reminds me I need to stock up my fridge with fruits.

All you people who work out daily and are flaunting flat stomachs, I hate you, but hats off! It is so hard to maintain that routine. And it hurts! I try and do 10-15 min of cardio followed by strength exercises for biceps+back/triceps+chest/legs+butt+shoulders and some abdomens daily. The worst of the lot are leg exercises. Squats, namely. It is so easy to get carried away and do tons, but give it 1.5 days, and just getting up and doing any sort of leg movement becomes a pain in the butt, well, literally.

So far, I am not sure how much working out has shown its results on me. The tummy bump still exists. My triceps/fat pouches still jiggle when I wave my arm. I still cannot carry off empire lines. Hmpphhh :-/

But, it is not as bad as before. I am not looking as lumpy as I did 2 years back. It has definitely improved my stamina. I can walk almost the entire day. I can run longer than I could before. Hopefully I will run a 5K soon. Working towards that.

I am determined to get in shape and to get fit. Slowly, but steadily, I hope to reach that point where I feel good about my fitness level and body.

This is a weird post, but it is only to remind and motivate myself that I have a long way to go to be fit, and that I should continue working on it. Lets see how I fare after a month.

2 thoughts on “Gym rants

  1. The Old dog shares his personal weight loss journey that i must admit is very interesting. It has interesting yet effective strategies and am sure they will inspire you as you progress. Am working towards building a muscle packed body and am motivated by him in many ways.
    Check out his blog at 68anda6pack.com. All the best in your journey

    Like

I love to get notes. So, go ahead...

