Last few days of summer…

Last weekend I went to San Diego and had a fabulous time!

I joined a couple of friends to go for the La Jolla seven cave tour by kayaking. It was a very hot day and I have tanned almost 4 shades darker even with a gallon of sunscreen on me. But it was all worth it.

The tour guide took us into the sea where Amru and I were on a kayak and her husband and brother were on another. Our arms were absolutely in pain by the end of it. But you know what the cherry on top of the cake was? I along with Amru’s husband, jumped off the kayak into the sea!

After the tour was done, the guides took us to a nice spot faaaaaaaar from the beach. We could see leopard sharks and sea turtles swimming in the ocean and we could see some dolphins and sea lions a li’l further away. They told us that we could swim there if we wanted. Everyone was really hesitant. I could see Ninad wanted to do it, so I egged him on! 😀 I mean, we had our life jackets as well. And he jumped! I looked at him, and slipped off my kayak too, although carefully, because I did not want to get my contacts wet.

I have done snorkeling before, which was a mindblowing experience as well, but this time, I was much more further into the ocean. The hard part was getting back into the kayak. It took all my core strength and mad, furious kicking into the water to hoist myself up. I managed that and was sprawled b*tt up, in the kayak, while Amru balanced the boat, for a good 10 exhausted minutes. At some point, a great white shark did cross my mind. They often have a sighting of one and have to close the beach down. Anyhoo, thank God there were none while I was dangling from the kayak.

The water was just the right temperature. So amazing and a beautiful blue. Usually, the Pacific is very cold, saving for July to September.

Swimming in the deep blue sea is one point checked off from my bucket list.

After the kayaking session, I had plans of going for Dandiya with Abhi and Nisha and their few friends. But we ended up canning it in favor of going to watch Haider. The movie is like an onion. It has so many layers to it. A fabulous example of oedipal complex, the movie has quite a bit of shock factor. A lot of people are pissed off that the censor board released a movie showing the Army in a bad light. I don’t think it was necessarily trying to show the army in a bad light. Now, it is what it is. There have been many cases where AFSPA has been mis-used. We have heard of plenty of cases from Kashmir, North-East, and the tribal areas. Also, those ^#%$&@% terrorists and militants have brought out the animal in everyone. Anyways, in short, I saw a movie that had some substance.

Now I just need to watch Bang Bang in the coming week. 😛

9 thoughts on “Last few days of summer…

  1. Just googled La Jolla caves, wow it’s awesome ! Backpacking through US has been on my bucket list for a looooong time ! It’s such a pretty country with so many national parks and mind-blowing scenic beauty. Unfortunately I would need to win a lottery for that. Better start praying to Lakshmi Devi regularly from now on. 🙂 From Haider to Bang Bang ?! You seem to be a girl of extremes !

    Like

    • Haha! I can jump from Jaani Dushman to Maachis in a day. Lol
      It is a beautiful country if you like exploring. Many argue that India mein hi bohot hai. But ech country has its own charm an God willing, would love to see the whole world. I have done a blog post on San Diego. I love La Jolla coves. It is one o the 3% of protected marine habitat of the world.

      Like

  2. Maachis from ur prev comment reminds me of that guy in the movie who was in this serial on DD a decade and a half ago, where he was called Nikhil and was mentally challenged and married a girl and had a baby called Nitin. Then he gets cured and forgets what he did during his pagalpan days and marries another girl. Then both the girls spend rest of the serial reciting the following 2 dialogues –

    1 – Old wife – Nitin mera hai
    New wife – Nahi nitin mera hai.
    2. Old wife – Nikhil mera hai
    New wife – Nahi nikhil mera hai

    Wonder what possessed me and Mom to sit and watch it every day till it ended. And im having a ‘nine west’ moment with the serial ka name. Jagjit singh had sung the title song i think. And the title song was thoda dark with the moon n all, i think there was a jhoola also somewhere near the moon..or was that Meher ka title? Waise Meher was good…ill recollect the name in a while and msg you.

    Like

      • Lol mostly i hv tried all of these things in amusement parks that scared me, thanks to boy who won’t leave till i agree, because he knows that i want to do it but i don’t have the courage, but i am so embarrassing at such places.it’s not even funny 😥

        Like

I love to get notes. So, go ahead...

